Harry Kane Wins PFA Fans’ Player of the Year

Tottenham Hotspur Stadium
Dom Le Roy

After another phenomenal goal-scoring season, Harry Kane has put doubters to shame once again having now won the PFA Fan’s Player of the Year award in addition to a second successive Golden Boot.

The 23 year old, who managed 29 goals in 30 league appearances this season, totaled 35 goals in all competitions. This is highest tally so far in his career despite missing 3 months of football due to two separate ankle injuries.

Kane was named PFA Fans’ Player of the Year ahead of N’Golo Kante, Eden Hazard, Alexis Sanchez, Dele Alli and Romelu Lukaku. The 6 nominees were selected by football experts and members of the Professional Football Association and the winner was decided by a fan poll.

According to Skysports, over 49,000 votes were cast with Kane picking up over 16,000 of those votes alone. Kante was a close runner up with roughly 13,500 votes, whereas Hazard finished off the top 3 with 8,000. Sanchez, Alli and Lukaku picked up 6,700, 3,500 and 955 votes respectively.

Kane has become the first Tottenham player ever to receive the award and the first Englishman to be named winner since Manchester United’s Wayne Rooney in 2010.

Elsewhere, Newcastle striker Dwight Gayle won the Championship award, Bolton centre-back David Wheater won it in League 1 and Pompey’s Enda Stevens was named winner of the award in League 2.

Have something to tell us about this article?


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.