Premier League clubs make u-turn over transfer window

Tottenham Hotspur Stadium
Dom Le Roy

Premier League clubs have been meeting this morning at a central London hotel to discuss the summer transfer window.

Martyn Ziegler, chief sports reporter of The Times has taken to Twitter to reveal that clubs have voted to return to the extended summer transfer window.

The change of rule will see the window once again close on September 1st and no longer before the first game of the season.

Changes were made to the summer transfer window in 2017, which brought deadline day forward before the start of the season, but the other top European leagues continued to trade for over three weeks longer which left many in a position of being unable to replace players which departed overseas once the English window had closed.

Eleven clubs were required to vote in favour of changes to the date and time of the summer transfer window to register a majority decision.

Spurs chairman Daniel Levy was said to be one of the people to push for the change (The Sun).

A statement from the Premier League read: “At a Shareholders’ Meeting today, Premier League clubs voted to adopt a change to the Summer Transfer Window closing date for season 2020/21.

“This will move the closing date back to the traditional point at the end of August/early September.

“The 2020 closing date will therefore be 17:00 BST on 1 September (31 August 2020 being a UK Bank Holiday).

“Clubs agreed after discussing the topic at length at previous Shareholders’ Meetings.”

Have something to tell us about this article?


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.