Tottenham Hotspur confirm the departure of eight players

Tottenham Hotspur Stadium
Dom Le Roy

Tottenham Hotspur have officially confirmed the departure of eight players following the conclusion of the season.

Jan Vertonghen is the highest profile player to depart North London after eight years at the club following his move from Ajax in 2012.

The 33-year-old announced earlier today in an Instagram post that he was moving on following the conclusion of his contract.  Vertonghen made 315 appearances in Spurs colour in all competitions (transfermarkt).

Michel Vorm, who re-joined the club in October to provide goalkeeping cover following Hugo Lloris’ elbow injury has also left the club.  The Dutchman made just one appearance following his return which came in the FA Cup replay defeat to Norwich City (transfermarkt).

There are also departures at academy level with Maxwell Statham, Maximus Tainio, Tariq Hinds, Phoenix Patterson, Jonathan Dinzeyi and Rayan Clarke having already left Hotspur Way.

Tainio joined Finnish outfit FC Haka at the end of May and have been managed since 2018 by his father and former Spurs midfielder Teemu Tainio.

Have something to tell us about this article?


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.