Harry Kane has defended his actions on the field which led to Tottenham Hotspur behind awarded a penalty against Brighton.
Kane backed into a jumping Adam Lallana’s path on the edge of the Seagulls box. After consultation with VAR, referee Graham Scott deemed Lallana’s foul to have actually taken place inside the box, allowing Kane to convert from twelve yards to help his side to a 2-1 victory.
The Spurs striker admitted that he tried to put his body in between the ball while it was in the air and Lallana, only for the Brighton midfielder to clatter into him.
While Kane admits that it was a 50-50 decision on whether a foul of that nature typically results in a free-kick, the fact it was turned into a penalty makes it more of a talking point.
Harry Kane was criticised in some quarters after he was awarded a penalty following a collision with Adam Lallana at the weekend – but the Spurs forward points out that VAR backed up the referee’s decision.
Do you think it was a penalty? ?? pic.twitter.com/0dijmxhwJN
— Sky Sports Premier League (@SkySportsPL) November 3, 2020
Have something to tell us about this article?