Who are the senior players left out of the Spurs tour?


Tottenham Hotspur have today announced the travelling squad who will head take part in our AIA Cup matches against a Malaysia XI and Sydney FC.

A statement on the official Spurs site read: “Younes Kaboul, Vlad Chiriches and Paulinho have been given permission to remain at the Training Centre, while Emmanuel Adebayor and Etienne Capoue have been granted leave to return home for family reasons.”

It’s hardly surprising that Kaboul and Chiriches in particular have been left out of the squad by Mauricio Pochettino.  If either of these players are still at the club at the end of the summer transfer window I will be hugely surprised.   It remains to be seen if Paulinho will be included in Brazil’s Copa America squad, the team is announced on June 1st.

We all know about Adebayor’s well-publicised personal problems which he is currently going through with his family.  However, nothing has been mentioned about Capoue’s issues.   I think the majority of fans would also expect this part to depart N17.

Milos Veljkovic misses out as he is on Under-20 international duty with Serbia.

Spurs squad

Hugo Lloris
Luke McGee
Michel Vorm

Eric Dier
Federico Fazio
Danny Rose
Jan Vertonghen
Kyle Walker-Peters
DeAndre Yedlin

Nabil Bentaleb
Tom Carroll
Nacer Chadli
Christian Eriksen
Erik Lamela
Ryan Mason
Josh Onomah
Benji Stambouli
Andros Townsend
Grant Ward
Harry Winks

Harry Kane
Roberto Soldado

Have something to tell us about this article?



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.