Tottenham Hotspur are one of the most decorated football sides in England, having become the first team during the 20th century to win the League and FA Cup Double, winning both competitions in the 1960–61 season under legendary manager Bill Nicholson.

Spurs also became the first British club side to win a major European competition when they thrashed Atletico Madrid 5-1 in the European Cup Winner’s Cup final in Feyenoord courtesy of goals from Jimmy Greaves (2), Terry Dyson (2) and John White.

The North Londoners also won the first-ever UEFA Cup in 1972 when they beat fellow English side Wolverhampton Wanderers. Spurs won the first leg at Molineux with Martin Chivers scoring a brace and a 1-1 draw in the return leg at White Hart Lane proved to be enough for Nicholson to secure his second European trophy as manager.

In recent years, trophies have evaded Tottenham despite having made the final of numerous competitions including the League Cup, FA Cup and Champions League under Mauricio Pochettino in 2019 when they lost 2-0 to Liverpool in the final in Madrid.

Tottenham’s last taste of silverware came back in 2008 when Juande Ramos’ side battled back from going behind against Chelsea to win the match at Wembley thanks to a Dimitar Berbatov penalty and an extra-time header from defender Jonathan Woodgate.

Tottenham’s Major Honours

Football League Champions: 1950/51, 1960/61

FA Cup Winners: 1900/01, 1920/21, 1960/61, 1961/62, 1966/67, 1980/81, 1981/82, 1990/91

Football League Cup Winners: 1970/71, 1972/73, 1998/99, 2007/08

UEFA Cup Winners: 1971/72, 1983/84

Football League Division Two Champions: 1919/20, 1949/50

FA Charity Shield Winners: 1920/21, 1951/52, 1961/62, 1962/63, 1967/68 (joint), 1981/82 (joint), 1991/92 (joint)

FA Cup winners
Tottenham Hotspur celebrate with the trophy after the 1991 FA Cup Final between Tottenham Hotspur and Nottingham Forest at Wembley Stadium on May 18, 1991 (Photo by David Cannon/Allsport/Getty Images)

Tottenham’s Other Honours

Southern League Champions: 1899/1900

Western League Champions: 1903/1904

London League Premier Division Champions: 1902/1903

Football League South ‘C’ Division Champions: 1939/1940

Football League South Champions: 1943/1944, 1944/1945

Southern District Charity Cup Winners: 1901/1902, 1904/1905 (joint), 1906/1907

Dewar Shield Winners: 1901/1902, 1933/1934

London Challenge Cup Winners: 1910/1911, 1928/1929

Anglo-Italian League Cup-Winners Cup Winners: 1971/1972

Norwich Charity Cup Winners: 1919/1920

Norwich Hospital Charity Cup Winners: 1946/1947, 1949/1950 (joint)

Ipswich Hospital Charity Cup Winners: 1951/1952 (joint)

Costa Del Sol Tournament Winners: 1965, 1966

Nolia Cup (Sweden) Winners: 1977

Japan Cup Winners: 1979

Sun International Challenge Trophy (Swaziland) Winners: 1983

Peace Cup (Korea) Winners: 2005

Vodacom Challenge (South Africa) Winners: 2007

Feyenoord Jubileum Tournament (Holland) Winners: 2008

Barclays Asia Trophy (China) Winners: 2009

Audi Cup (Germany) Winners: 2019

When were Spurs last in a Cup Final?

Tottenham’s last appearance in a cup final came when they lost 1-0 to Manchester City in the 2021 League Cup final with Aymeric Laporte’s 82nd minute header proving to be enough for Pep Guardiola’s side to win the match.

The showpiece was overshadowed in the build-up by Tottenham chairman Daniel Levy’s decision to sack head coach Jose Mourinho just says before the Wembley fixture and replaced him on an interim basis with Ryan Mason.

Keep up to date with all the latest Tottenham news and opinion by following SpursWeb’s Facebook, Twitter and Instagram accounts.