‘A glitch’ – Ex-referee claims Arsenal were lucky to get penalty against Spurs

0
VAR
Julian Finney/Getty Images

Former referee, Dermot Gallagher, has claimed that Arsenal were lucky to get a penalty against Spurs in the North London Derby.

Davinson Sanchez was penalised for making contact with Alexandre Lacazette respite the fact that the Arsenal striker sliced his kick wide of the mark.

Gallagher claimed that it was a ‘glitch’ in the VAR system as the technology is not allowed to re-referee the decision. He implied that, because Michael Oliver saw contact and gave the penalty, the VAR could not simply overturn the decision.

Listen to the full Gallagher interview below:

Have something to tell us about this article?

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.