Crouch beats the rest to the coveted nine shirt


Peter Crouch - Header

Peter Crouch has been given the England No9 shirt by Fabio Capello for the World Cup.

Elsewhere, Aaron Lennon is No7, Jermain Defoe is No19 and Ledley King will wear the No20 shirt.

An England source told The Sun: “Crouchy will be really pleased to get the number nine. He is not taking his position in the team for granted but it is the number all strikers want.”

England World Cup squad numbers

1. David James

2. Glen Johnson

3. Ashley Cole

4. Steven Gerrard

5. Rio Ferdinand

6. John Terry

7. Aaron Lennon

8. Frank Lampard

9. Peter Crouch

10. Wayne Rooney

11. Joe Cole

12. Robert Green

13. Stephen Warnock

14. Gareth Barry

15. Matthew Upson

16. James Milner

17. Shaun Wright-Phillips

18. Jamie Carragher

19. Jermain Defoe

20. Ledley King

21. Emile Heskey

22. Michael Carrick

23. Joe Hart

Have something to tell us about this article?


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.