Gary Lineker reveals whether he thinks Arsenal were right to get penalty

0
Tottenham Hotspur Stadium
Dom Le Roy

Gary Lineker weighed in on the penalty debate last night when Arsenal were awarded a spot-kick against Tottenham in the North London Derby.

Referee, Michael Oliver, pointed to the spot after Spurs defender, Davinson Sanchez was adjudged to have impeded Alexandre Lacazette in the box.

Lacazette was put through on goal and pulled his foot back to wind up the shot when Sanchez came flying in for a block. The Arsenal striker completely mishit his shot and sliced it well wide of the mark before contact was made with Sanchez.

Lineker argued that it was actually Lacazette who had kicked Sanchez on the follow-through rather than the Spurs defender fouling him.

He said on Twitter: ‘I can’t see that as penalty. He’s miss-kicked it completely and booted him in the follow-through.’

Even Lacazette himself revealed after the game that he thought Arsenal were lucky to get a penalty out of the incident.

Former referee, Dermot Gallagher also claimed that the Gunners were fortunate and that VAR was not allowed to re-referee Oliver’s decision in that case.

Have something to tell us about this article?

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.