Lacazette claims he was ‘lucky’ to get penalty against Spurs in NLD

0
Image: SpursWeb

Arsenal striker, Alexandre Lacazette, has admitted that he believes he was lucky to be handed a penalty against Tottenham in the North London Derby yesterday.

He said to Sky Sports after the match: “We are lucky to get the penalty, I think.”

The Frenchman was adjudged to have been brought down by Davinson Sanchez in the second half, with Lacazette then dusting himself off and dispatching the spot-kick.

However, the replays showed that Sanchez had come flying in to block the shot and Lacazette had actually sliced the ball wide of the mark and then hit the Spurs defender.

Unfortunately, former referee Dermot Gallagher has since revealed that the VAR was not able to re-referee the decision as Michael Oliver saw contact. He did add that Arsenal were lucky to get the penalty though.

Jose Mourinho was certainly unhappy with the decision, claiming that only an Arsenal season ticket holder would label it as a penalty.

Arsenal went on to win the game 2-1, with that goal ending up as the deciding factor in the victory.

Have something to tell us about this article?

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.