Mourinho on Gazzaniga error; reveals he has spoken with his goalkeeper

0
Image: SpursWeb

Tottenham Hotspur head coach Jose Mourinho has admitted that he was surprised with Paulo Gazzaniga’s decision making against Chelsea.

Spurs were trailing 1-0 to rivals Chelsea at the Tottenham Hotspur Stadium when on the verge of half time, Gazzaniga was guilty of conceding a penalty.

Chelsea were awarded the decision after VAR overturned referee Anthony Taylor’s decision.

The Spurs goalkeeper raced forward and ended up clattering into Chelsea full-back Marcos Alonso inside his own penalty area when he kicked thin air instead of the football.

Taylor initially punished Alonso for the incident with Spurs being given a free-kick, until the intervention of VAR.

Willian stepped up to score his second goal of the game in what proved to be a crucial moment of the match.

Mourinho told the press that he thought that the goalkeeper would have attempted to have used his hands to snuff out the attack, rather than trying to clear the ball with his feet.

He revealed that he has spoken with the Argentine following the incident and confirmed that he has put the mistake behind him.

Mourinho told Football.London: “Yeah. Yeah. I was surprised. But that’s football, I think its an easy one. It’s an easy one. I spoke with him to try to understand and even himself, he was not in control of his action and he made a mistake. But during matches, players make mistakes, referees make mistakes and coaches make mistakes. No problem.”

Have something to tell us about this article?

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.