Jamie O’Hara took to Twitter this week to express his frustration at how Harry Kane’s goal was deemed offside during Tottenham’s defeat to Chelsea on Wednesday night.
The Blues beat Spurs to advance into the final of the Carabao Cup with a 1-0 win in the semi-final second leg to secure a 3-0 win on aggregate.
But the scoreline on the night could have been a different outcome for Antonio Conte’s side had it not been for VAR, which intervened on three separate occasions.
Spurs were awarded two penalties in the encounter which were both overturned, as well as having a goal chalked off in the second half.
While the penalty decisions were the correct ones, the reason behind Kane’s tally being disallowed has seemingly confused plenty of people.
Lucas Moura picked up a loose pass and threaded in the Spurs talisman, who was positioned just between Chelsea goalkeeper Kepa and the goal before slotting home.
But Antonio Rudiger had already made his way into the gaping Chelsea net and Kane was slightly ahead of Andreas Christensen, who was now the Blues’ last man according to the law.
However, O’Hara was unhappy with the decision and claimed Spurs were ‘punished’ by a law that needs changing.
I know the bloody rule but the rule is a joke and needs changing, Kepa dives in loses it and we get punished, most stupid rule in football
— Jamie Ohara (@Mrjamieohara1) January 12, 2022
Spurs Web Opinion
This law is one that rarely gets used and it just so happens that it went against Spurs on this occasion. Granted Spurs were essentially punished by Kepa being loose with the ball and then out of position, but unfortunately, that’s the law when an attacker is beyond the goalkeeper.
Have something to tell us about this article?