Report: Spurs and ‘big six’ clubs accept eight-figure fine for Super League

Daniel Levy
Jon Bromley/ MI News/NurPhoto via Getty Images

The Daily Mail have reported that Tottenham and the other ‘big six’ clubs, Man City, Man United, Chelsea, Arsenal and Liverpool, have all agree to accept a fine for their part in the European Super League. 

All six clubs signed up to break away from the existing European competitions in order to form their own Super League, which in turn would bring a huge injection of cash.

However, the Super League eventually fell apart and all six Premier League sides chose to back out of the deal. Unfortunately for them, this has not come without punishment.

The Daily Mail have revealed that Spurs and their fellow Super Leaguers have accepted a collective fine of around £22m.

It has also been agreed that any future attempt to join another league will result in a £25m fine for the offending club, as well as a 30-point deduction in the Premier League standings.

The ‘big six’ clubs were reportedly keen on their fines going to good causes rather than the pockets of their Premier League rivals. Therefore, the cash will go to grassroots football and fan/community initiatives.

There will also be no immediate points deduction for the six clubs.

Have something to tell us about this article?


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.