Spurs star snubbed by UEFA

Tottenham Hotspur Stadium
Dom Le Roy

Tottenham’s goal machine Harry Kane has not made the shortlist for the UEFA PLayer of the Year award.

Luka Modrić, Cristiano Ronaldo and Mohamed Salah make up the three players in contention for the award but Kane did not even make the top 10.

Harry Kane featured on seven occasions for Spurs in the Champions League last campaign and netted seven times yet the 25-year-old fell short of the nominations.

Spurs were knocked out of the Champions League in the Round of 16 by Juventus over the two legs.

Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah made the cut following his heroics which led the Reds to the final in Kiev.

The winner will be announced ahead of the Champions League draw on 30 August.

Antoine Griezmann, Lionel Messi, Kylian Mbappé, Kevin De Bruyne, Raphaël Varane, Eden Hazard and Sergio Ramos make up the remaining numbers for the top 10 of the year.

Have something to tell us about this article?



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.