Tottenham star among 30-man shortlist for Ballon d’Or award

Tottenham Hotspur Stadium
Image: @snapshotspurs

Tottenham Hotspur striker Harry Kane has been named on the 30-man shortlist for the men’s 2021 Ballon d’Or award.

The England captain joins the likes of Lionel Messi, Mohamed Salah, Robert Lewandowski and Erling Haaland as those who are in contention for the award.

The Ballon d’Or awards return this year after being cancelled in 2020 due to the Covid-19 pandemic, with the ceremony to take place at the Theatre du Chatelet in Paris on November 29.

Votes are cast through France Football by a leading journalist or broadcaster from each of the 180 voting nations, with each selecting a top five from the 30-man shortlist. Top picks are allocated five points towards their overall total, with the number then descending down the list.

Lionel Messi scooped the award in 2019, which was the sixth time he had won the world’s most prestigious individual football award, Kane has previously been nominated but has never come out as first choice.

Ballon d’Or nominees

Cesar Azpilicueta (Chelsea, Spain)

Nicolo Barella (Inter Milan, Italy)

Karim Benzema (Real Madrid, France)

Leonardo Bonucci (Juventus, Italy)

Kevin de Bruyne (Manchester City, Belgium)

Giorgio Chiellini (Juventus, Italy)

Ruben Dias (Manchester City, Portugal)

Gianluigi Donnarumma (PSG, Italy)

Bruno Fernandes (Manchester United, Portugal)

Phil Foden (Manchester City, England)

Erling Braut Haaland (Borussia Dortmund, Norway)

Jorginho (Chelsea, Italy)

Harry Kane (Tottenham, England)

N’Golo Kante (Chelsea, France)

Simon Kjaer (AC Milan, Denmark)

Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich, Poland)

Romelu Lukaku (Chelsea, Belgium)

Riyad Mahrez (Manchester City, Algeria)

Lautaro Martinez (Inter Milan, Argentina)

Kylian Mbappe (PSG, France)

Lionel Messi (PSG, Argentina)

Luka Modric (Real Madrid, Croatia)

Gerard Moreno (Villarreal, Spain)

Mason Mount (Chelsea, England)

Neymar (PSG, Brazil)

Pedri (Barcelona, Spain)

Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United, Portugal)

Mohamed Salah (Liverpool, Egypt)

Raheem Sterling (Manchester City, England)

Luis Suarez (Atletico Madrid, Uruguay)

Have something to tell us about this article?


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.