UEFA reveal their Champions League squad of the season – three Spurs lads make it

Tottenham Hotspur Stadium
Dom Le Roy

Tottenham Hotspur may have gone on an incredible Champions League journey to the final this season, but they heart-breakingly fell at the final hurdle last night against Liverpool.

Goals from Mo Salah and Divock Origi sent the Reds home with the iconic trophy, despite the fact that Tottenham enjoyed the majority of possession and created more shots and more shots on target.

Unfortunately, Spurs just lacked quality in the final third on the night, but that should not detract from their amazing journey this season, from not spending a penny to reaching the biggest final in club football.

Who could forget Jan Vertonghen’s man of the match performance at Wembley against Borussia Dortmund? Or Lucas Moura’s 45-minute hat-trick against Ajax?

UEFA have now released their squad of the season for 2018/19, and three Tottenham stars make the cut, despite a final loss.

Lucas Moura, Jan Vertonghen, and Moussa Sissoko are all in the squad of 20.

The full squad is:


Alisson Becker (Liverpool)
Marc-André ter Stegen (Barcelona)


Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool)
Matthijs de Ligt (Ajax)
Jan Vertonghen (Tottenham)
Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool)
Andy Robertson (Liverpool)


Moussa Sissoko (Tottenham)
Hakim Ziyech (Ajax)
Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City)
Frenkie de Jong (Ajax)
Tanguy Ndombele (Lyon)
Georginio Wijnaldum (Liverpool)
David Neres (Ajax)
Raheem Sterling (Manchester City)


Lionel Messi (Barcelona)
Dušan Tadić (Ajax)
Sadio Mané (Liverpool)
Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus)
Lucas Moura (Tottenham)

Have something to tell us about this article?


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.