Gary Lineker has taken to social media to claim that Tottenham should never have been awarded a penalty for Matty Cash’s challenge on Harry Kane in the second half last night.
Although Tottenham’s performance at Villa Park was lacking a bit of quality at times, the players certainly fought hard for every single ball and came away with a deserved win.
Jose Mourinho admitted after the game that the players showed the kind of fight and heart that was missing from their performance at Zagreb on Thursday.
However, the game was finely poised at 1-0 until Spurs were awarded a penalty with a little over 20 minutes left, which Kane converted with typical ruthlessness.
The penalty call from Mike Dean has generated a bit of controversy as Kane stepped over the ball and ensured that Matty Cash made contact with him after the Villa right-back decided to slide in recklessly.
Lineker felt that the Tottenham striker had conned the referee to win the spot-kick.
— Gary Lineker 💙 (@GaryLineker) March 21, 2021
Spurs Web Opinion
There is no question that Kane ‘won’ the spot-kick but it was a penalty by the letter of the law and the Spurs striker was well within his rights to ensure Cash made contact with him after the Villa man decided to slide in recklessly.
Have something to tell us about this article?