Video: Ex-referee reveals whether Kane penalty should have stood

0
Tottenham Hotspur Stadium
Dom Le Roy

Former Premier League referee, Dermot Gallagher has revealed that Harry Kane’s penalty against Aston Villa at the weekend was correctly awarded.

Spurs were 1-0 up in the match at Villa Park after Carlos Vinicius tapped home a Lucas Moura cross in the 29th minutes.

Villa had enjoyed the best of the play in the opening 25 minutes but Spurs rose to ascendency after their goal, going on to boss the affair.

However, the scores were still close heading towards the final portion of the game before Kane was adjudged to have been fouled by Matt Cash in the Villa penalty area.

Upon closer viewing, it could be seen that Kane had missed the ball and subsequently found himself on the wrong end of the Cash challenge while the ball dribbled harmlessly behind.

Despite this, Dermot Gallagher told Sky Sports that the penalty should have stood as Cash definitely fouls Kane before the ball goes out of play.

Check out the full explanation below:

Have something to tell us about this article?

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.