Tottenham Hotspur were denied a late penalty during the North London derby against Arsenal which potentially could have secured all three points and the bragging rights for the visitors.
With the score level at 2-2 in injury time, Harry Kane went down in the penalty area following a challenge from Sokratis Papastathopoulos with referee Martin Atkinson waving away the appeal from the striker.
Former Spurs midfielder Jamie O’Hara believes that a penalty should have been awarded after he claimed that Kane felt the contact from the Arsenal defender and was using a professional way to go down.
O’Hara admits that Kane was trying to buy the decision from the referee but refused to call it a dive.
Kane was also recently denied a penalty in the 1-0 defeat to Newcastle United at the new Tottenham Hotspur Stadium after he was once again the subject of contact from a defender in the opposition box.
"It's a penalty! He's drawn contact."
"Sokratis is clumsy." 👎
"Kane is being professional. He's trying to make the referee make a decision."@MrJamieOHara1 says Harry Kane didn't dive against Arsenal.
What do you think? 🤔 pic.twitter.com/amwczZjsZB
— talkSPORT (@talkSPORT) September 2, 2019
Have something to tell us about this article?