Opinion: The Spurs Web End of Season Awards – Including best visual effects

Image: SpursWeb

Yesterday marked the end to yet another Premier League season for Tottenham and it was one of severe ups and downs for the North London club.

Fortunately, the campaign ended on somewhat of a high with Europa League qualification, and we wanted to look back on some of the best performers of the year.

Player of the Season – Undoubtedly, this has to go to Heung-min Son. He steps up when the team needs him, he scores goals while Kane is away, and he embodies the passion and drive of the club.

Goal of the Season – Once again, Heung-min Son has to scoop the award thanks to his superb solo effort against Burnley this season. What. A. Goal!

Young Player of the Season – While minutes were few and far between in the end, I have to give this award to Japhet Tanganga for bridging the gap between academy and first-team, while looking superb in the process.

Best Newcomer – There was not a lot to beat, but Giovani Lo Celso has looked class in midfield since the turn of the new year. An honourable mention for Steven Bergwijn too.

Most Improved Player – Despite continuing to look shaky defensively, Serge Aurier has definitely seen the most growth to his game under Mourinho this season.

Best Supporting Actor – In terms of assists and creation this season, we have to give another award to Heung-min Son as he not only scored a load himself, but made plenty for his teammates.

Best Visual Effects – In a stop-start season for the Englishman, we have to give this award to Dele Alli this year, purely for that flick he engineered while falling off the pitch against West Ham in Mourinho’s first game.

Best Costume/Design – This award has to go to Eric Dier for the pure bravery shown in pulling off a skin-head mohican since the restart!

Loyalty Award – We have to give a special mention to Serge Aurier for continuing to play for Spurs in recent weeks despite the tragic death of his brother. Thank you and respect to you, Serge.

Lifetime Achievement Award – Jan Vertonghen. That is it.

Have something to tell us about this article?


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.